the narrow way


“Realize that to know Christ you must lead a dying life. The more you die to yourself, the more you will live unto God. You will never enjoy heavenly things unless you are ready to suffer hardship for Christ. Nothing is more acceptable to God, nothing more helpful for you on this earth. When there is a choice to be made, take the narrow way. This alone will make you more like Christ.” – Thomas à Kempis

Dying to myself is not an attractive or appealing practice, but I can understand what Thomas a Kempis is saying. I have found that the more I can let go of my own agenda, my need to control and be in charge, the more I can surrender results, my agenda and what I think should happen, in other words the more I practice humility and detachment, the more I find myself at peace and feeling closer to Christ. How many different ways did Jesus remind us that he came, not to be served, but to serve? In the gospel of John, the depiction of the Last Supper centers around Jesus washing the feet of his disciples – a sign of humility and service.

This coming Sunday we will celebrate the Feast of Christ the King. I am going to spend some time in reflection and prayer this week looking at Jesus in his “kingly moments” so that I can learn what it means to follow him and help to work for the coming of the kingdom he has given to us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

