Gratitude for Teachers


Tomorrow is my daughter’s last day of first grade. I know it’s cliché, but I am amazed at how quickly this school year seems to have passed. She has learned and grown much this year and Gina and I are grateful to those who taught her. What a gift!

This past Sunday, I witnessed the high school graduation of one of my nieces, Abby. She is a talented, intelligent, compassionate and caring young woman. She will begin college next fall and hopes to become an elementary education teacher. She will be wonderful at this, and one day, no doubt, parents will be musing, as I am today, about how much their child learned and has grown, and part of that will be due to Abby. Again, what a gift.

As another school year comes to an end, we may do well to thank God for those teachers who have touched our hearts and lives and helped us to become the people we are today. I have learned so much in classrooms throughout my life.

I think of important academic material that was presented to me in creative and caring ways. My favorite teachers spanning from elementary education to Masters level courses were those who seasoned their teaching & instruction with truths about life, love and giving back to others. Too many to mention, I thank God for them now.

“O Eternal God, bless all schools, colleges and universities, that they may be lively centers for sound learning, new discovery, and the pursuit of wisdom; and grant that those who teach and those who learn may find you to be the source of all truth; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.”

-Book of Common Prayer, 824

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

