What matters – a Mother’s Day reflection


Awhile ago a parishioner who worked in education before she retired gave Gina and me a plaque. I don’t have it in front of me now, but here’s a paraphrase of what is written on it:

“A hundred years from now, it will not matter what was in my bank account, what kind of car I drove, what kind of house I lived in, what I wore, where I lived, or whether or not I was famous. What will matter most of all is that the world may be a little better because I was important in the life of a child.”

We are very grateful for this plaque she shared with us. It makes us reflect on our decision to adopt our daughter as well as our efforts to be good god-parents and to take time to listen to and notice the children in our lives. Part of what I like about this plaque is that it makes me think about a fundamental question that is posed to me by the gospel, viz., “What is important, what has ultimate meaning, and to whom or to what do I give myself?”

Our daughter was very excited to celebrate a second Mother’s Day with Gina. About five days before what we might call in church lingo, “The Feast of Mom”, our daughter said, “Mom I can’t tell you what I got you for Mother’s Day, but I can tell you this: it’s from Barnes and Noble and it’s books!” She also had a load of home-made gifts for Gina. Very sweet.

It reminded me, as so many moments with her do, not to take anything or, for that matter, anyone, for granted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

