Why I want to be Baptized


I had the honor of welcoming a teenager into the Body of Christ through the Sacrament of Baptism this past Sunday. She is an impressive young person and I am proud of her. She prepared, studied, prayed about this, and requested it herself. She had the full loving support of her Mom and Step Dad-to-be. After our final meeting I asked her to send me a note that briefly explains why she wishes to be baptized. I warned her that I might share it during my Sunday sermon. As it turned out, I did not preach this past Sunday (Jason Lavann offered an excellent homily), but I think her words, simple and from the heart, are worth sharing:

Dear Fr. Scott,

I would like to be baptized because I want God to see that I am here and I would like to be forgiven for things I’ve done wrong in the past. Also, I would like to have a fresh start with God in my life and I would like to be Christ-like.

Amen, and thank you, Meghan!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I want to be Baptized

  1. Pingback: Holy Baptism: The Door of the Spiritual Life « Poetry Writers Book Shop

Leave a Reply

