Prayer for Total Stewardship


My church is made up of people like me. I help make it what it is.

It will be friendly, if I am.

Its pews will be filled, if I help fill them.

It will do great work, if I work.

It will make generous gifts to many causes, if I am a generous giver.

It will bring other people into its worship and fellowship, if I invite and bring them.

It will be a church of loyalty and love, of fearlessness and faith, and a church with a noble spirit, if I, who make it what it is, am filled with these same things.

Therefore, with the help of God, I shall dedicate myself to the task of being all the things that I want my church to be.

Makes one think, doesn’t it?

I mean, when we look at it this way, Stewardship, a word that, it seems, many parishes are still grappling with, takes on a pretty significant meaning when we consider it in light of the role we each have to help St. Mary’s parish, or wherever we belong, to be what it is called to be in Christ. It begins with each one of us, seeking to embody those very characteristics that we all want our church to have.

If we’re not careful, we can get caught up in making church about all kinds of things that it’s really not about at all. It’s always a good idea to seek to keep the main thing the main thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

