Bless the Work of our Hands…


One of the earliest Christmas presents I can recall is when I was around 4 or 5 years old and my Dad made me a small workbench. It was placed in the basement, next to his big one. I spent a lot of time watching my Dad work on projects, handing him tools, and trying to understand how it was that he knew how to do so much! As time went on, I continued to hand him tools, if I could remember what he asked for between the time I left his side and went to his workshop! It became clear as I got older that my skills were not in the realm of working with my hands – I just didn’t have those gifts.

It bothered me for quite some time, and at times still does, that I was not given the gene or gift or whatever it is to do skilled work with my hands. I have come to accept that my gifts lie elsewhere, and I am grateful for this reminder and expression of the wonderful diversity and variety of our loving God.

All this is to give you the background for why I remain pretty humbled that, while Gina read instructions and assisted (and assured me this was very do-able), she and I removed an old faucet and drain in our bathroom and installed a new one… and it works, and there are no leaks! Truly amazing. I had visions of getting partway through and needing to call a plumber to finish.

In the grand scheme of things, not a big deal. Lots of folks can do this, and better and quicker than me. However, for me, a moment to celebrate. With instructions, patience and a little encouragement, we did it. Completely out of my comfort zone and Gina was right – it went just fine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bless the Work of our Hands…

  1. I was not aware of that prayer – it’s perfect! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Karla says:

    “I had visions of getting partway through and needing to call a plumber to finish.

    In the grand scheme of things, not a big deal. Lots of folks can do this, and better and quicker than me. However, for me, a moment to celebrate.”

    I can SO relate to this situation, both the anxiety and the triumph, at varying times. -smile-

    Brings this prayer to mind, if just a little?…

    “We thank you for setting us at tasks which demand our best efforts, and for leading us to accomplishments which satisfy and delight us.

    We thank you also for those disappointments and failures that lead us to acknowledge our dependence on you alone.”

    (BCP p. 836. Awesome prayer, imho)

  3. Thanks Janine! It was a new experience for me to be able to do a project like this – and have it work!

  4. Janine Voruz says:

    Good Job, Scott and Gina!
    I have been blessed with a husband who can do almost anything with his hands. Perhaps an even bigger blessing is his ability to teach others how to do things. Many are the days here in Omaha when Jim and John are on Skype with Jim coaching John through a new home-improvement project, or viceversa with John talking Jim through a computer problem.
    One day not long ago, Leigh’s mother came to visit, and the hot water handle in the shower came out of the wall during her shower, resulting in gallons of hot water shooting into the shower stall!! I immediately called Jim on Skype, and he talked us through turning off the water and replacing the faucet.
    Just a few days later, the vacuum cleaner ate a cat toy mouse which resulted in a broken drive belt and another call to Jim, who calmly inspected the underworks of the vacuum and instructed me on the replacement of the belt.
    Here’s to fixing things and the people and instructions that help us!

Leave a Reply

